Buffalo chicken and a relaxing night

IMG_0104.JPG
Tim is out at German class and I am relaxing here at home. Tonight, we made crock pot buffalo chicken wraps with blue cheese dressing, adapted from skinnytaste. They were great! We will definitely make these recipes again. It’s perfect for a quick meal that is high in protein. Some comments:

–I completely forgot to put the boneless chicken breasts in the crockpot until two minutes before I had to leave for work. I literally just dumped them into the slow cooker, covered them with water, set the timer to high for 8 hours, and ran out the door. I don’t think it really affected the overall flavor. Usually, I’d use chicken broth or vegetables as indicated in the recipe but all’s well that ends well. This is a great way to make shredded chicken for sandwiches, soups, and casseroles.

–Hot sauce is really, really high in sodium. The lowest sodium hot sauce we could find was Yuengling Hot Wing Sauce! Maybe the beer takes away a bit of the salt?

–Next time, I would grate both the carrots and celery to tuck into the wraps.

I went out to get my PPD vaccination for work but the clinic was closed! So I headed over to pinkberry for a little treat–pomegranate frozen yogurt with fruit. Now, I’m watching television and working on my Christmas list.

I saw an interesting article in the New York Times about fall risk in our aging population. Falls are one of the top things I address as an occupational therapist, and have seen firsthand how preventative treatment can make a significant difference.

A nice start to the week!

Comments

